Conference Header
Conference Header

AUCD - AUCD Honors Celebration and Networking Reception (awards ceremony)

<< Back to Program

Tuesday, November 17, 2015 4:45 PM - 6:30 PM

Location: Grand Ballroom North/Central

Session Description


4:45pm - Networking Reception and viewing of Bold Beauty Project
5:10pm - Bold Beauty Project Recognition with Shelly Baer
5:15pm - FCC Chairman Tom Wheeler
5:30-6:30pm - AUCD Honors awards presentations

Cocktail attire is encouraged.


The AUCD Honors Celebration and Reception is a time to recognize the commitment, dedication, persistence, and leadership of the individuals, organizations, and programs that have made a significant contribution to the understanding, support, and advancement of disability services and supports and the core mission of the AUCD network. The semi-formal event will feature a bar, hors d'ovures, and entertainment as a backdrop to plenty of social time. Individuals registered for and attending this event will receive a ticket for a drawing held the next morning; you must receive a ticket at this event and be present in the morning to win one of several highly desireable prizes.

During the 2015 AUCD Honors Celebration, we will have two special presentations: Tom Wheeler, Chairman of the Federal Communications Commission, will speak about his efforts to enforce the ADA and the 21st Century Communications and Video Accessibility Act, his personal experience as a parent of a young adult with an intellectual disability, and future initiatives at the FCC to increase access for all. Additionally, AUCD is proud to have some of the models, photographers, planners, and the founder of the Bold Beauty Project, Shelly Baer of the Mailman Center for Child Development, with us for the evening. The Bold Beauty Project is an innovative visual arts project that showcases 20 women living with various disabilities. Through the photographers' creative lens, the audience gets a glimpse into the lives of these incredible women and recognizes their beauty, strength, and sensuality - their boldness. Learn more at

The following awards will be presented during this time:

  • George S. Jesien Distinguished Achievement Award: to a network member who has demonstrated a distinguished career of excellence and leadership in support of AUCD's mission.
  • Leadership in Advocacy Award: in recognition of exceptional leadership and self-advocacy skills in the area of developmental disabilities.
  • Multicultural Council Award for Leadership in Diversity: to a network member in recognition of their leadership in advancing programs and practices aimed toward increasing the diversity, cultural, and/or linguistic competencies within a Center or the network.
  • Council on Community Advocacy Award: to a UCEDD who has exhibited the strongest commitment to support the full and active participation of self-advocates and family members.
  • International Service Award: in recognition of outstanding contributions that further programs or policies designed to create more inclusive communities for people with disabilities and their families throughout the world.

We will also recognize the recipients of these awards presented at other times throughout the AUCD Conference:

  • Special Recognition Award: in recognition of outstanding contributions toward creating more inclusive communities for people with disabilities.
  • Gold Star Award: presented to a Capitol Hill staffer who exemplifies a true partnership in crafting strong public policy.
  • Anne Rudigier Award: to an outstanding trainee/student who has demonstrated a commitment to supporting people with disabilities and their families.
  • Young Professional Award: to a professional under 40 who as demonstrated dedication and commitment to people with disabilities and their famiiles through work as a bridge between the academinc sector and the community.
  • Trainee Research Award Presented by CORE: recognizing outstanding research accomplishments by a current or former trainee.
  • Service to the Organization Awards: recognizing outgoing members of the AUCD Board of Directors. 
  • President's Award: presented to the outgoing President of the AUCD Board of Directors.