Multicultural Council Minutes

October 1, 2002

Introductions and Sharing:




Carolyn Richardson

NM Center for Developmental Disabilities

Gemma Skillman

U of South Dakota- Center for Disabilities

Tom J. No

IHD - Arizona

Tawara D. Goode

Georgetown Univ. - CCHD

Annie Alonsp

San Juan PR- UCEDD

Mat McCollough

AUCD Central Office

Mary Jones-Furlow

Institute on Disabilities - UCEDD (Philadelphia)

Shadi Sahami

Univ. of Utah- ULEND

Diane N. Bryen

Temple University

Yegin Habtes

Univ. of Virgin Islands

John Meaney

NAU- IHD - U of Arizona Program site

Kimberly Walker

Oregon Institute on Disability & Development

Rita Hohlstein

Waisman Center -WI

Paula Sotnik

Institute for Community Inclusion

Ruth Smith, PhD

Shriver Center at UMass Medical School

Linda Wilson

OK Center for Learning/ Leadership

Susan Yuan

Center for Dev & Community Inclusion- VT

Rosalind German

Georgetown Univ Center for Child & Human Dev

Tokesha Warner

MIND Training Project At Vanderbilt Child Dev (TN)

By-laws and Procedures

  • It was recommended to add several items to the position responsibilities of the Chair
    • Mentorthe Vice-Chair and Secretary of the Council
    • Address issues of continuity of leadership within the Council

The motion was made, seconded, and passed with a vote.

  • It was recommended to add several items to the position responsibilities Vice-Chair and Secretary:
    • Shall attend meetings of the AUCD board (when available)
    • Shall attend the annual Directors meeting

The motion was made, seconded, and passed with a vote of the Council.

  • A discussion was introduced to allow nominations and voting electronically for Council position. A motion was made to include an addendum in the by-laws. The motion was seconded and passed with a vote of the Council.


Carolyn offered to allow for nominations for the Chair of the Council.

A motion was called to the floor to keep the present officers in place for an additional year. The move was seconded and the motion passed with a vote.

Present slate and terms of office are:

  • Chair: Carolyn Richardson (2001-2003)
  • Vice-Chair: Tawara Goode (2001-2002 and 2002-2003)
  • Secretary: Tokesha Warner (2001-2002 and 2002-2003)

Update on Assessment Subcommittee

Members: Rita, John, Linda Wilson, Roz Parrish, and Roberta Lopez

Discussion on letter from the Board

Discussion was introduced concerning the letter from Bob Stodden that was presented at the meeting. It was felt that AUCD needs to be a conduit for working with our partners. Presently representatives from each of the Consumer Advocacy Council and from the Multicultural Council have a position on the Board. It was suggested that a resolution be sent to the Board that the proposed plans be implemented "in partnership with Individuals with Disabilities and diverse constituents". It was suggested that the Board be requested to participate in training and this be addressed in this week's meeting of the Board. We need to respectfully recommend that the organization and the Board engage in a strategic session around cultural competence and recognizing their leadership role. Tokesha will work with Carolyn to write a recommendation to the Board to be presented at this week's meeting.

Planning for next year


Addendum: The suggestion to the Board was submitted as follows: