CDC-AUCD Leadership Opportunity: Act Early Ambassadors-State or Territorial Liaisons to CDC's "Learn the Signs. Act Early." Program

July 1, 2022


pdf File 2022 Act Early Ambassador RFA and Application Updated.pdf (881KB) [download]

Thank you for applying for the Act Early Ambassador Program for the two-year cohort during 2022-2024. We have extended the review time for applications and will provide notice for awards on August 15th, 2022. Thank you for your patience.

Deadline: July 29, 2022 at 5:00pm ET

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's (CDC) National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities and the Association of University Centers on Disabilities (AUCD) announce a funding opportunity for Act Early Ambassadors to work with CDC's "Learn the Signs. Act Early." (LTSAE) program to improve early identification of developmental delays and disabilities, including autism, by:

  • promoting the adoption and sustained integration of family-engaged developmental monitoring using LTSAE milestone checklist resources in programs/systems that serve young children and their families (e.g. WIC, home visiting, child welfare, early care and education, etc.);
  • serving as a state or territorial representative of CDC’s national LTSAE program; and
  • supporting the work of Act Early Teams and other states/territorial or national initiatives to improve early identification of developmental delay and disability.

This funding opportunity will support a new, two-year cohort of up to 60 Act Early Ambassadors.  Individuals from all states and territories are eligible to apply. Two Act Early Ambassadors may be selected for states with a population greater than 10M (according to 2020 US Census Data). These states include California, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Michigan, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas. The five territories include American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the US Virgin Islands and three freely associated states- Federated States of Micronesia, Republic of Palau, and the Republic of the Marshall Islands.