Aggieland Sustainability Alliance Awards Dr. Marcia Montegue a the 2021 Faculty Champion

May 5, 2022

From its inception as a land-grant institution in 1876 to the additional sea-grant and space-grant designations, Texas A&M University has been a leader in research and education for how we interact with—and impact—our environment. In March 2008, The Office of Sustainability was founded to enhance these efforts by creating a culture of sustainability in Aggieland.

The Aggie Sustainability Alliance is a campus wide program that encourages faculty and staff to participate in fostering a culture of sustainability. Individuals, offices, and student organizations are recognized for their voluntary contributions to major sustainable areas such as energy and water use, transportation, food and purchasing, waste minimization, and social sustainability.

The online individual certification is the base of the Aggie Sustainability Alliance. All Texas A&M University faculty, staff, and students are encouraged to complete the certification.

Certification is completely voluntary and is available at three tiers – Supporter, Advocate, and Champion. Certifiers have access to door markers, LinkedIn/email badges, the ASA newsletter, and the official ASA listserv. The optional listserv enables greater connection between those interested in sustainability around campus.

Dr. Marcia Montegue was awarded the 2021 Sustainability Champion Faculty member. 

Please congratulate Dr. Montegue for achieving the top tier for the Aggie Sustainability Alliance certification.

Read More