AUCD's Children's Mental Health Champions Project Extended for 2021-2022

December 16, 2021

AUCD’s National Center on Disability in Public Health continues its work with the Children's Mental Health Champions project for a second year. This project is made possible through a cooperative agreement with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Building on the efforts of the year one Champions, 2020-2021, twelve Champions were selected for 2021-2022 to continue to provide timely support for children and their families. The Champions developed state-specific work plans to implement effective strategies for mental health promotion, prevention supports, and the creation of networks (e.g., school, healthcare, and community) to promote better connections between these systems. The 2021-2022 Champions represent American Samoa, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Kentucky, Maine, Montana, New Hampshire, New Mexico, and South Dakota.

State Affiliation Champion
American Samoa Pacific Basin University Center on Exxcellence for Developmental Disabilities/American Samoa UCEDD Jean Anderson
California The Northern California LEND Project at the UC Davis MIND Institute Jazmin Burns
California  USC University Center for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities (UCEDD), Children's Hospital Los Angeles Micah Orliss
Colorado JFK Partners, University of Colorado School of Medicine/Children's Hospital Colorado Judy Reaven
Connecticut University of Connecticut Center for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities Bethanne Vergean
Georgia Center for Leadership in Disability, Georgia State Univesity, UCEDD Emily C. Graybill
Kentucky  Human Development Institute (HDI), University of Kentucky, UCEDD Mary Howard
Maine University of Maine: Center for Community Inclusion and Disability Studies, UCEDD Jennifer Maeverde
Montana University of Montana, Rural Institute for Inclusive Communities, UCEDD Anna-Margaret Goldman
New Hampshire Institute on Disability at the University of New Hampshire
JoAnne Malloy
New Mexico  University of New Mexico Center for Development & Disability, UCEDD Julia Oppenheimer
South Dakota Center for Disabilities, University of South Dakota/Sanford School of Medicine Tova Eggerstedt