What We Need - Christopher C. Gagliardi

June 11, 2020

My name is Christopher C. Gagliardi. I am 39 years of age from Englewood, New Jersey and I am a person with disability which is Infantile Autism. Before this emergency, I was really making a strive forward towards a life that I want for me, I was back in college to get a degree in Journalism and I was really doing great, my mother was enjoying the quiet time away from me and to also have the independence to do what she needed to do, for she has a challenge herself, she has had to endure 4 bouts of cancer, spinal surgery and beyond which made have physical challenges too. I was also working at a coffee shop in my hometown making money for me to have fun and also to support my home. But ever since this pandemic came upon the shores, things have changed dramatically, as I am sure for all of us.

The COVID-19 emergency has made me leave the college for the time being and it has also made me be told to stay at home from work, because I was non-essential to the cause. I wanted to help in many many ways, but told, your not essential. I am worried about not having a job, not being able to pay for the important things that we need to survive in my home, we live on fixed income sincerely and this is really putting us in now a even tighter squeeze sincerely and it makes me sad deeply. I want this nightmare to end soon so that I can continue to move forward for my dreams to become true! I know you are working on the fourth relief package for COVID-19. I want to learn more about how you are going to help people with disabilities in this package, especially older folks who have disabilities on the spectrum past the age of 21 need help too. Thank you very much for your time.