AUCD Welcomes 2017 Board of Directors

December 21, 2016

AUCD Board of Directors (not pictured: Jack Brandt)
AUCD Board of Directors (not pictured: Jack Brandt)

AUCD is governed by an elected Board of Directors that includes professionals, individuals with disabilities, and family members. On December 7, 2016, we thanked outgoing Board members for their dedicated service and welcomed the members of the 2017 AUCD Board of Directors.

Members of the AUCD 2017 AUCD Board of Directors are (in alphabetical order): 

Jerry Alliston, PhD (Council Chair: CEDC) 
Institute for Disability Studies, The University of Southern Mississippi

Maria Mercedes Avila, PhD (Council Co-Chair: MCC) 
Vermont LEND, University of Vermont

Harolyn Belcher, MD, MHS (At Large Member) 
Kennedy Krieger Institute LEND, Maryland Center for Developmental Disabilities UCEDD

Jack Brandt (Council Co-Chair: COLA) 
Disability Policy Specialist for the Partnership for People with Disabilities, Virginia Commonwealth University

Karen Brown, PhD, CCC-SLP (Council Chair: NTDC) 
Associate Director, Virgin Islands UCEDD

Karen Edwards, MD, MPH (Past-President) 
Westchester Institute for Human Development, New York Medical College

Celia Feinstein, MA (President) 
Institute on Disabilities, Temple University

Amy Hewitt, PhD (Treasurer) 
Institute on Community Integration, University of Minnesota

Bruce Keisling, PhD (President-Elect) 
Boling Center for Developmental Disabilities, University of Tennessee Health Science Center

Zipporah Levi-Shackleford, MA (Trainee Representative) 
Partnership for People with Disabilities, Virginia Commonwealth University

Sachin Pavithran, MS (At Large Member) 
Center for Persons with Disabilities at Utah State University 

Olivia Raynor, PhD (Past-President) 
Tarjan Center, University of California Los Angeles

Carol Salas Pagan, PsyD (At Large Member) 
Puerto Rico University Center for Excellence on Developmental Disabilities/IDD

Mark Smith, MS (Council Co-Chair: COLA) 
Munroe-Meyer Institute for Genetics and Rehabilitation, University of Nebraska Medical Center 

Marc J Tasse, PhD 
Nisonger Center (UCEDD, LEND)

Stephan Viehweg, ACSW, LCSW (Member at Large) 
Riley Child Development Center, Indiana University

Christine Vining, MS,CCC-SLP (Council Co-Chair: MCC) 
Center for Development and Disability, University of New Mexico

Philip Wilson, PhD (Secretary) 
Human Development Center, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center

Dan Zhang, PhD (Council Chair: CORE) 
Center on Disability and Development

About AUCD 

The Association of University Centers on Disabilities welcomed the 2017 Board of Directors during the AUCD 2016 Conference December 4-7 in Washington, DC, "Navigating Change: Building Our Future Together"

The Association of University Centers on Disabilities (AUCD) is a membership organization that supports and promotes a national network of university-based interdisciplinary programs. Network members are 67 University Centers for Excellence in Developmental Disabilities (UCEDD), funded by the Administration on Intellectual Developmental Disabilities (AIDD), 52 Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental Disabilities (LEND) Programs funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB), 15 Developmental Disability Research Centers (IDDRC), most of which are funded by the National Institute for Child Health and Development (NICHD), and their faculty, staff, and fellows.

Located in every U.S. state and territory, AUCD members are all part of universities or medical centers. They serve as a bridge between the university and the community, bringing together the resources of both to achieve meaningful change. The Board of Directors is comprised of members of the AUCD network elected by the membership: six individuals in leadership positions, seven individuals who serve as Chairs or Co-chairs of the Councils of AUCD, one individual representing network trainees and fellows, and four members at large. Board members serve a term spanning a minimum of three years.