Self-Advocacy Training Series for LEND Programs

Self-Advocacy Training Series for LEND Programs

Download

pdf File GSU Creating Inclusive Interdisciplinary 10-07-2021.pdf (996KB) [download]

pdf File GSU Training 2 Lessons Learned 10-14-2021-Slides.pdf (1,074KB) [download]

pdf File GSU Training 1 10-07-2021 Transcript (493KB) [download]

pdf File GSU Training 2 10-14-2021 Transcript (194KB) [download]

pdf File USAUCD1410A.pdf (147KB) [download]

Thursday, October 7, 2021- Thursday, October 21, 2021
Location: Virtual

AUCD's Interdisciplinary Technical Assistance Center (ITAC) on Autism and Developmental Disabilities, in partnership with The Center for Leadership in Disability at Georgia State University, is hosting a series of virtual trainings for LEND Programs in October 2021 related to self-advocacy. While the intended audience is LEND leadership and faculty, all are welcome. Trainings will be conducted virtually and recorded and archived for those unable to attend the live sessions.

Training Part 1: Creating Inclusive Interdisciplinary Training Programs 

Thursday, October 7 - 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM ET (2:00 PM - 4:00 PM CT, 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM MT, 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM PT)

Objectives

  1. Participants will be introduced to the three principles of Universal Design for Learning
  2. Participants will learn the purpose and benefits of plain language
  3. Participants will understand the similarities and differences between the terms accessibility and accommodations
  4. Participants will be provided examples of natural and paid supports

Training Part 2: Lessons Learned Along the Way

Thursday, October 14 - 3:00 PM - 5:00 PM ET (2:00 PM - 4:00 PM CT, 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM MT, 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM PT)

Objectives

  1. Participants will hear stories from LEND programs regarding their successes and challenges pertaining to trainee support
  2. Participants will be provided strategies for preventing tokenism within LEND
  3. Participants will be provided recommendations for how to support advocate trainees

Training Part 3: Advocates as Trainees 

Thursday, October 21 - 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM ET (3:00 PM - 5:00 PM CT, 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM MT, 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM PT)

Objectives

  1. Participants will be introduced to the new LEND requirement regarding inclusion of self-advocate trainees
  2. Participants will be introduced to the self-advocate trainee and faculty roles
  3. Participants will understand the differences between discipline specific and interdisciplinary training
  4. Participants will be provided recommendations for recruiting and selecting self-advocate trainees

Meet the Trainers: 

Image of Molly Tucker, MSW

Molly Tucker, MSW, Training and Advocacy Manager  

Molly is the Training and Advocacy Manager at the Center for Leadership in Disability at Georgia State University. She is responsible for the facilitation and coordination of leadership development and self-advocacy programs for individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities. She is a member of the Georgia LEND implementation team. In this role, she supports advocate trainees and focuses on ways to incorporate Universal Design for Learning into all training components.

 

 

 

Image of Mark Crenshaw, MTS

 

Mark Crenshaw, MTS, Director of Interdisciplinary Training 

Mark is the Director of Interdisciplinary Training at the Center for Leadership in Disability at Georgia State University. Since 2011, he has been responsible for the implementation and coordination of Georgia LEND. Georgia LEND has prioritized the inclusion of advocate trainees since its inception, and in addition to serving as the Training Director, Mark also served as the Self-Advocate Faculty member for several years. Mark is also a core faculty member for the AUCD Leadership Academy, which has been facilitated by Georgia State University since 2017.

 

 

Please Note:

  • CART captioning will be provided. For additional disability accommodations please email Jennifer Tuell at [email protected] two weeks prior to the event with name of event and accommodation preference in your response.
  • There is no cost for this Training.
  • CEUs are not offered.
  • This Training will be held on the Zoom Platform. You can test your connection with Zoom before joining the meeting here.
  • This webinar will be archived and available on the AUCD Webinar Library.

If you have any questions or need assistance logging into the training, please contact [email protected].