Website Link

The mission of the President's Committee for People with Intellectual Disabilities (PCPID) is to provide advice and assistance to the President of the United States and the Secretary of Health and Human Services on a broad range of topics that impact people with intellectual disabilities and the field of Intellectual Disabilities. Undergirding the Committee's mission is the goal to improve the quality of life that is experienced by people with intellectual disabilities, by upholding their full citizenship rights, independence, self-determination, and life-long participation in their respective communities.

Chaired by James T. Brett of the New England Council, AUCD members to be appointed include:

  • Dr. Deborah Spitalnik
    Deborah M. Spitalnik, Ph.D.
    is the founding Executive Director of The Elizabeth M. Boggs Center on Developmental Disabilities at New Jersey Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, where she is also a Professor of Pediatrics. A co-author of two editions of the classification manual in intellectual disability, Dr. Spitalnik educates a wide range of constituencies including individuals with disabilities and their families, medical students, resident physicians, direct support professionals, and social workers. Dr. Spitalnik chairs the New Jersey Medical Assistance Advisory Council, the National Council on Quality and Leadership, was a previous member and chair of PCPID, and is a past President of the Association of University Centers on Disabilities (AUCD). She was the recipient of the Dybwad Humanitarian Award given by the American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, the Verice M. Mason Community Service Leader Award, and the Ann Klein Distinguished Advocate in Developmental Disabilities Award given by the Community Health Law Project. Dr. Spitalnik holds a B.A. in Psychology from Brandeis University, an Ed.M. from Harvard University, and a Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology from Temple University.


  • Liz Weintraub
    Elizabeth Weintraub
    currently works for the Association of University Centers on Disabilities (AUCD). She also serves as a consultant for the National Children's Center, and for the Council on Quality and Leadership (CQL). She represents CQL in a variety of local, state, and national forums regarding quality of life for people with disabilities. She is the past Chair of the Maryland Developmental Disabilities Council and is a board member for the Maryland Disability Law Center. She was previously a board member of the National Association of Councils on Developmental Disabilities and Self-Advocates Becoming Empowered. Ms. Weintraub is a former appointee to the President's Committee on Employment of Persons with Disabilities. She was the recipient of the Elizabeth Monroe Boggs Award for Young Leadership and was recognized by the President of the American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities with a Presidential Award for significant contributions to the mission of the organization.





Learn more about the complete list of individuals to be appointed at the link above.