ILRU WEB CAST ON DISABILITIES & CULTURALLY DIVERSE FAMILIES

Friday, October 19, 2007
3 p.m. ET, 2 p.m. CT, 12 p.m. PT



Join ILRU for a Web cast which examines the cultural factors which affect acceptance and use of disability services by people of minority populations.

Daniel Wong and Lucy Wong Hernandez of East Carolina University's Department of Rehabilitation Studies will discuss variables which may affect a program's effectiveness in providing services to people of different cultures, including such factors as values, expectations, assimilation, and attitudes towards disabilities.

The Web cast is an initiative of the Rehabilitation Research Institute for Underrepresented Populations at Southern University in Baton Rouge.

How to Participate:

To link to this Web cast and download accompanying materials click here:

For instructions on how to access a Web cast click here :

Please visit this site ahead of time to test and ensure your computer is configured and updated to participate in the Web cast.

For technical assistance, please check out our FAQs (frequently asked questions) or contact a Web cast team member at 713.520.0232 (V & TTY).

This Web cast is a collaboration of ILRU with the Rehabilitation Research Institute for Underrepresented Populations, headquartered at the Department of Rehabilitation and Disability Studies of Southern University-Baton Rouge, one of the country's historically black universities. For more information click here .