

February 6, 2019

The Honorable Mike Doyle United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20501

Dear Congressman Mike Doyle,

On behalf of the Association of University Centers on Disabilities (AUCD), this letter is to thank you for your outstanding work and leadership on behalf of individuals with autism spectrum disorders and related developmental disabilities. AUCD strongly supports your bipartisan bill, the Autism Collaboration, Accountability, Research, Education, and Support Act of 2019, which will prevent the sunset or expiration in September of this year of Autism CARES.

The prevalence of autism is growing. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Autism and Developmental Disabilities Monitoring (ADDM) Network, autism now affects one in every 59 children. The Autism CARES Act has shown significant progress in increasing the capacity of professionals to screen, diagnose, treat and support individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD). However, substantial gaps still remain, which is why it is so critical to reauthorize the Autism CARES Act and sustain the momentum of the work that has begun under this law.

The membership of AUCD includes a national network – serving every state and territory – of 67 University Centers for Excellence (UCEDD), 52 Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental and Related Disabilities (LEND) programs, and 14 Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities Research Centers (IDDRC). Together, these programs provide a direct national impact through direct services, the development of new professionals, and the use of new knowledge generated from our research.

Again, AUCD applauds your commitment to individuals with autism and other developmental disabilities and will do all that we can to help to move this legislation quickly through Congress to continue these vital activities.

Sincerely,

Andrew Imparato Executive Director

any 5 Hunt

Amy Hewitt President 1100 Wayne Avenue, Suite 1000 Silver Spring, MD 20910 t: 301-588-8252 www.aucd.org

Amy Hewitt, PhD, MSW President

Sachin Pavithran, PhD President-Elect

Bruce L. Keisling, PhD Past-President

Carol Salas Pagan, PsyD Secretary

Stephan Viehweg, MSW Treasurer

Jack M. Brandt, MS Council on Leadership and Advocacy

Angela Martin, LMSW Council on Leadership and Advocacy

Ronda Jenson, PhD Council on Research and Evaluation

Jacy Farkas, MA Multicultural Council

Derrick Willis, MPA Multicultural Council

Meagan Orsag, PhD Community Education and Dissemination Council

Eileen McGrath, PhD National Training Directors Council

Daniel Armstrong, PhD Member at Large

Maria Mercedes Avila, PhD Member at Large

Tawara Goode, MA Member at Large

Scott Pomeroy, MD, PhD Member at Large

Marc J. Tassé, PhD Member at Large

Sheida Raley, MEd Trainee Representative

Andrew J. Imparato, JD Executive Director