Conference Header
Conference Header

AUCD - Closing Plenary: Leading Change Together! Engaging with Congress on Pressing Issues Facing the Disability Community

<< Back to Program


doc File Directions to Closing Plenary (1,054KB) [download]

pdf File PDF of Directions to Closing Plenary (527KB) [download]

Note: Held on Capitol Hill. See agenda for the latest details.

Wednesday, November 20, 2019 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Location: U.S. Senate, Dirksen SDG-50

Session Description

With the goal of hearing from a broad spectrum of congressional leaders, AUCD is holding the closing plenary on Capitol Hill. Join us to hear from legislative champions about their priorities and policies. Previously we have heard from leaders on both sides of the aisle, including Senator Orrin Hatch, Senator Bob Casey, Congresswoman Jenniffer Gonzalez, Congressman Chris Smith, and Congressman Bobby Scott.



Senator Bob Casey (Pennsylvania)

Senator Steve Daines (Montana)

Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (New York)

Representative Deb Haaland (New Mexico)

Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers (Washington)

Senator Patty Murray (Washington)

Commissioner Julie Hocker (Administration on Disabilities)



Photo of Bob CaseySenator Bob Casey

Senator Bob Casey has been representing Pennsylvanians since 2006. He has become a champion for people with disabilities in Congress. He is the ranking member on the Special Committee on Aging. Read more about Senator Casey on his official webpage.

Twitter: @SenBobCasey




Photo of Steven DainesSenator Steve Daines

Senator Steve Daines is working on issues of critical importance to growing good-paying Montana jobs and supporting the needs of Montana's veterans and tribes. He serves on the Senate Committees on Finance, Appropriations, Energy and Natural Resources, and Indian Affairs. Read more about Senator Daines on his

Twitter: @SteveDaines




Photo of Deb HallandRepresentative Deb Haaland

Congresswoman Deb Haaland of New Mexico was elected as one of the first Native American women to serve in Congress. She serves in leadership roles as the 116th Congress Freshman Class Representative to the House Democratic Steering and Policy Committee. Read more about Rep. Haaland on her official webpage.

Twitter: @RepDebHaaland



Photo of Patty MurraySenator Patty Murray

Senator Patty Murray of Washington State is currently Ranking Member of the Senate Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions Committee. A unique voice in the United States Senate, Patty is known for her down-to-earth, determined style. Read more about Senator Murray on her official webpage.

Twitter: @PattyMurray




Photo of Kristen GillibrandSenator Kirsten Gillibrand

Senator Kirsten Gillibrand of New York has served as Senator since 2009 and worked to improve the Americans with Disabilities Act and other measures. Read more about Senator Gillibrand on her official webpage.

Twitter: @GillibrandNY




Photo of Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers

Congresswoman Cathy McMorris Rodgers represents with the people of Eastern Washington. She is currently serving as the Chair of the House Republican Conference, a position making her highest ranking female Republican in the House of Representatives. Her mission is to restore trust and confidence in representative government and the rule of law, and lead as a trust-builder, ability-advocate, and unifying force to get results for hardworking men and women in Eastern Washington.
Read more about Congresswoman McMorris Rodgers on her 
official webpage.

Twitter: @cathymcmorris


Photo of Julie HockerCommissioner Julie Hocker

Julie Hocker is Commissioner of the Administration on Disabilities, Administration for Community Living. She brings to the role extensive experience in operational process improvement, risk management, and effectiveness assessment. Read more about Commissioner Hocker on ACL's website.

Twitter: @JEHocker, @ACLgov




Highlights from AUCD's 2018 Closing Plenary on Capitol Hill

Featured Presenter(s)