Multicultural Council Minutes

October 1, 2002

Introductions and Sharing:

NAME

CENTER AFFILIATION

EMAIL ADDRESS

Carolyn Richardson

NM Center for Developmental Disabilities

crich@unm.edu

Gemma Skillman

U of South Dakota- Center for Disabilities

gskillmg@usd.edu

Tom J. No

IHD - Arizona

thomas.no@nav.edu

Tawara D. Goode

Georgetown Univ. - CCHD

tdg2@georgetown.edu

Annie Alonsp

San Juan PR- UCEDD

tainno@yahoo.com

Mat McCollough

AUCD Central Office

mat@aucd.org

Mary Jones-Furlow

Institute on Disabilities - UCEDD (Philadelphia)

mjonesf@nimbus.ocis.temple.edu

Shadi Sahami

Univ. of Utah- ULEND

ssahami@socwk.utah.edu

Diane N. Bryen

Temple University

dianeb@temple.edu

Yegin Habtes

Univ. of Virgin Islands

yhabtes@uvi.edu

John Meaney

NAU- IHD - U of Arizona Program site

fmeaney@u.arizona.edu

Kimberly Walker

Oregon Institute on Disability & Development

walkekim@ohso.edu

Rita Hohlstein

Waisman Center -WI

hohlstein@waisman.wisc.edu

Paula Sotnik

Institute for Community Inclusion

paula.sotnik@umb.edu

Ruth Smith, PhD

Shriver Center at UMass Medical School

ruth.smith@umassmed.edu

Linda Wilson

OK Center for Learning/ Leadership

linda-m-wilson@ouhsc.edu

Susan Yuan

Center for Dev & Community Inclusion- VT

syuan@zoo.uvm.edu

Rosalind German

Georgetown Univ Center for Child & Human Dev

colemanr@georgetown.edu

Tokesha Warner

MIND Training Project At Vanderbilt Child Dev (TN)

tokesha.warner@vanderbilt.edu

By-laws and Procedures

  • It was recommended to add several items to the position responsibilities of the Chair
    • Mentorthe Vice-Chair and Secretary of the Council
    • Address issues of continuity of leadership within the Council

The motion was made, seconded, and passed with a vote.

  • It was recommended to add several items to the position responsibilities Vice-Chair and Secretary:
    • Shall attend meetings of the AUCD board (when available)
    • Shall attend the annual Directors meeting

The motion was made, seconded, and passed with a vote of the Council.

  • A discussion was introduced to allow nominations and voting electronically for Council position. A motion was made to include an addendum in the by-laws. The motion was seconded and passed with a vote of the Council.

Elections

Carolyn offered to allow for nominations for the Chair of the Council.

A motion was called to the floor to keep the present officers in place for an additional year. The move was seconded and the motion passed with a vote.

Present slate and terms of office are:

  • Chair: Carolyn Richardson (2001-2003)
  • Vice-Chair: Tawara Goode (2001-2002 and 2002-2003)
  • Secretary: Tokesha Warner (2001-2002 and 2002-2003)

Update on Assessment Subcommittee

Members: Rita, John, Linda Wilson, Roz Parrish, and Roberta Lopez

Discussion on letter from the Board

Discussion was introduced concerning the letter from Bob Stodden that was presented at the meeting. It was felt that AUCD needs to be a conduit for working with our partners. Presently representatives from each of the Consumer Advocacy Council and from the Multicultural Council have a position on the Board. It was suggested that a resolution be sent to the Board that the proposed plans be implemented "in partnership with Individuals with Disabilities and diverse constituents". It was suggested that the Board be requested to participate in training and this be addressed in this week's meeting of the Board. We need to respectfully recommend that the organization and the Board engage in a strategic session around cultural competence and recognizing their leadership role. Tokesha will work with Carolyn to write a recommendation to the Board to be presented at this week's meeting.

Planning for next year

Other

Addendum: The suggestion to the Board was submitted as follows: