Sound Beginnings: Changing the World for Children with Hearing Loss

 
Archived Recording
In order to view the webinar presentation, please click on the webinar icon below.

Tuesday, October 26, 2010
12:00pm EST (9am PDT; 10am MDT; 11am CDT) - 1:00 pm EST

The American Academy of Pediatrics is pleased to offer the second call in the Birth Defects Prevention and Identification CME Webinar Series, "Sound Beginnings: Changing the World for Children with Hearing Loss" on Tuesday, October 26 at 11:00 am CDT (12:00pm EDT, 10:00am MDT, 9:00am PDT). This event is free and open to all who are interested.

Speakers include:
- Karl White, PhD; National Center for Hearing Assessment and Management, Utah State University
- Susan Wiley, MD; Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center

 At the conclusion of this activity, participants should be able to:
1) Explain how to screen for hearing loss, describe the different degrees of hearing loss, and identify the risk factors of hearing loss.
2) Apply the strategies identified to screen by 1 month, identify by 3 months, and enroll into early intervention by 6 months children who are deaf or hard of hearing.
3) Identify follow-up strategies and procedures for children who didn't 'pass' their NBHS.

To obtain CME credit, a pre-webinar questionnaire and a post-webinar evaluation must be completed. The pre-webinar questionnaire will open in your browser window upon completing registration. A link for the post-webinar evaluation will be emailed to all participants at the conclusion of the webinar.

Immediately after registering for the Webinar, you will receive a confirmation e-mail from our Webinar service provider, GoToWebinar. The e-mail address will be listed as "Chelsea Fosse GoToWebinar.Notifications@citrixonline.com". If you do not receive a confirmation message, please check your spam files/folder. It has come to our attention that in some cases, spam blockers may prevent the message from reaching your inbox.

If you have any questions or need any assistance, please contact Chelsea Fosse at cfosse@aap.org.